Author Topic: Mental Health Awareness Month  (Read 557 times)

D. Engebretson

• ALPB Contribution Leader
    • View Profile
Mental Health Awareness Month
« on: May 17, 2021, 10:29:09 AM »
Since 1948 May has been designated as Mental Health Awareness Month.

With the pandemic we certainly had a greater than usual need for mental health professionals and their services.  These men and women were also essential front line workers. 

As a pastor I have ministered to or interacted with people with a variety of mental disorders including depression, schizophrenia, and bipolar disorder, which includes over 18% of Americans.  I have also ministered to a member with DID, formerly known as Multiple Personality Disorder.  As a chaplain I have dealt with depression and suicide, among other stresses.  I took training in Critical Incident Stress Management early in my chaplain service, recognizing the unique mental health strains of first responders who sometimes suffer from PTSD. 

There was a time when mental disorders were stigmatized in church settings, and even in my earlier years it was quite common to hear people speak disparagingly of "going to the shrink."  Pastors and chaplains often serve as front line mental health workers out of necessity, so they know firsthand the real world challenges in this area. 

So a prayer is in order for those who work with these troubled people.  May the mercy of Christ always be extended and evidenced as we reach out in love and care!

« Last Edit: May 17, 2021, 10:31:07 AM by D. Engebretson »
Pastor Don Engebretson
St. Peter Lutheran Church of Polar (Antigo) WI

Terry W Culler

• View Profile
Re: Mental Health Awareness Month
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2021, 10:46:17 AM »