Author Topic: Sola Scriptura  (Read 11760 times)

RogerMartim

• ALPB Forum Regular
  • Vede que grande amor nos tem concedido o Pai...
    • View Profile
Sola Scriptura
« on: May 10, 2012, 06:18:30 PM »
As a simple Lutheran layman I don't have the erudition that so many of you have and so I beg your pardon.

I am having trouble with the phrase sola scriptura as one of the few solas that the Lutheran Church subscribes to.

The canon wasn't formalized until a few centuries after the apostles. As it is stated in John 21:25, "Jesus did many other things as well. If everyone of them were written down, I suppose that even the whole world would not have room for the books that would be writen."

Yet the Lutheran Church insists that our belief system is based on sola scriptura.

It is not a problem in the Roman Catholic Church as Tradition is every bit as doctrinal as the Bible, Oral Tradition, that is. Where is the line drawn when it comes to the Infallibility of the Pope; the Marian Doctrines; etc. Some of Lutheran practices relies on tradition but again, where is the cutoff point where we then come to say that it is sola scriptura.

Sorry that I am such an ignoramus. It can be confusing.

peter_speckhard

• ALPB Administrator
  • ALPB Contribution Leader
    • View Profile
Re: Sola Scriptura
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2012, 07:05:01 PM »
To be sola scriptura in theology is not to deny the existence and helpfulness of extra-Scriptural traditions, writings, and historical facts concerning Christ and the Church. It is to say, along with John, that THESE are written to so that we may believe. We may rely on the truth of Scripture absolutely, whereas other writings and traditions might also be false. But yes, even the Scriptures acknowledge that there is more to the story than Scripture. But the Scriptures are sufficient and only Scripture is infallible. Everything else is normed according to the Bible.

Weedon

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2012, 07:31:29 PM »
Roger,