Author Topic: Revolutionary Language of Gun Control  (Read 45105 times)

Norman Teigen

• ALPB Contribution Leader
  • I intend to persuade no one.
    • View Profile
Revolutionary Language of Gun Control
« on: January 12, 2013, 09:49:46 AM »
I am a former English teacher who is concerned with public use of the language.  I am greatly disturbed by the arguments made by the NRA people.  I thought that it might be interesting to read  comments by the informed readers of this site.  Many Christian people are participating in the broad discussion of public safety as it relates to this topic.

To get things started, I recommend this piece by Charles Blow in today's New York Times:  http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/12/opinion/revolutionary-language.html?hp
Norman Teigen

Norman Teigen

• I intend to persuade no one.
    • View Profile
Re: Revolutionary Language of Gun Control
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2013, 09:51:18 AM »
One of the more controversial assertions by the NRA is that Hitler took away the guns of Jewish citizens which made it possible for the Nazis to incinerate them.   
Norman Teigen

Voelker

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2013, 10:16:50 AM »
There's an equal amount of pants-on-head nonsense from both sides, of which the article you linked to is a fine example. Thanks!

Dadoo

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2013, 11:01:44 AM »
Norman,

THere is a flood of data out there that shows that there is a flood of data out there.  :)

America might not want to compare itself too hard to Europe from whence it sought refuge in the first place. Guns mean something different in a culture that used to be awash with kings, dukes, and emperors who had real power all aspects of common life. Confiscating guns in Britain means something very different than it does here. By the same token, having the means of defense in the possession of the people is as much a cultural value as much as being submissive to the authorities is in Europe.